Urq

I was going to write a self-confessional piece

Something along the lines of needing to add a new middle name

 

Unrequited

 

Or maybe just adopting that as a sobriquet

Like gentlemen in years past tacking on the appellation

Esquire to their names

And like esq, it could be shortened to urq

 

But then I decided that would be too fucking depressing

 

Exactly

 

So I didn’t

And I won’t

 

Because there’s always tonight or tomorrow

And hope is an old friend

Who springs up

Over and over

Like a demented jack-in-the-box

But it makes me smile every time

And if I smile I feel better

 

So I do

And I will

 

 

David Trudel   © 2013

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Poetry

2 responses to “Urq

  1. Made me smile, too. This has a silly sweetness to it that I really enjoy.

Leave a comment